Ladies Day Race 2018

Barbara Wallace's picture

Ladies Day 2018


On August 12, the HISC Ladies Day Race included 11 boats and 54 Lady sailors!   Ten men acted as on- board coaches. The weather cooperated and the breeze actually blew.  This year there was terrific participation from more novice sailors. The only way to become an experienced racer is to get some experience. The club is energized to see new boats and new sailors in the race.


Third Tri with Captain Naya Mondrosch and coach Larry Geller had an admirable finish in 6th place.  The captain and crew were girls from the Youth Sailing Program. The future of the club is in good hands.


La Bon Vie had a crew of all women.  Some of the ladies were on their very first sailing race.  Congratulations to Joan Derrig-Heacox and friends. Well done.


The Lady Grey did not finish, but Jamie Remacle learned about her boat and enjoyed it all.


Lizetta participated in her first Ladies Day.  Tom Garvey coached on his boat for Captain Peggy Alcock.  Everyone had a blast.


It was a first Ladies Day for Fandango.  Congratulations Erin Dorval.


Linda Kaelblein had not run the helm recently, but she never lost her touch.  Coached by Paul Chasse on his Cheerios the team did well.  


Imagine wins the prize for largest team.  This 47-footer requires a lot of woman power to manage the 3 sails.  Brenda Duvall proved that practice makes it work. After 2 rehearsals runs, the nine women worked together beautifully and finished in the middle of the pack.


Alebrije made a good showing with Lucy Tamez at the helm.


It was Jenny Kunz at the helm of Blue Runner, sailing a smooth course and coming in third. Great job.


Vitamin D made a powerful second place showing under owner/captain Amanda Haley.  She even has a great new logo on the boat.


Contrails and Barbara Wallace took home the perpetual trophy after winning first place. Congratulations to a great team.


Putting this day together was a HISC wide effort.  There are a lot of people to thank.

Race Chair Barbara Wallace kept it organized and set the ratings.

Alan Katz’s Ciboney was the Committee Boat.  Committee Boat crew included Barbara and Bob Stevens and Tim Leonard.

Jamie Cowan was on board to call the race.  

They set the marks with Contrails and Imagine.

Ira Wechterman drove his powerboat Southwind to be the photo boat.  

Christeen Pozniak was the official photographer.  She recorded our memories with tons of great pictures.

Patricia DeMars provided race results.

Suzi and Carl Wehe arranged for us to party in the Club House of their complex.  This was an excellent venue to hold the crowd who came to the celebration.

Karyn Katz provided set up for the party.

Marjorie Morales donated 4 dozen gorgeous roses to honor the top three finishers and those hearty souls who finished last.

Josh Dorval and Dale Kern organized the crew pool.  Dale also provided those sleek trophy clocks.

John DiLorenzo is a new member with a power boat.  He hosted Hutch and John Kaelblein who were cheering on the ladies.  Welcome John!


Of course, we feasted.  Ladies Day is the day for the men to show off their culinary skills.

Paul Alcock bakes braided loaves for hungry crew members.  Tom Garvey makes a mean chili, Michael Duvall keeps it Southern with a tasty gumbo.  Bob Schuldenfrei marinates a pork roast with balsamic and peaches. David Anderson’s salad provides yummy greens. No one goes hungry at HISC.


Here is the full list of boats and crews:  





Linda Kaelblein

Abby Moyer


Paul Chasse

Angela Territo


Lucy Tamez

Shari Telman


Hector Arrillaga

Graciela Sorgente



Petra Ringeistein



Carla Grinspan

Lady Grey

Jamie Remacle

Judy Whittaker


Barry Simmons

Patricia DeMars



Kit Lourens



Eliz Knickerbocker


Barbara Wallace

Lynette Scraper


Jim Wallace

Mary Kay Paquelet



Cindy G Cowan



Gina Taylor



Maureen Leonard


Brenda Duvall

Steffi Schiffer


Michael Duvall

Diane Rogerson



Holly Griffin



Jennifer Brown



Aline Marcantino



Pat Schuldenfrei



Marjorie Morales





Holly Griffin



Suzi Wehe



Hilary Loftus

Vitamin D

Amanda Haley

Haylee Lavalee


Rick Jarchow

Lorie Messer



Linda Gossett

La Bon Vie

Joan Derring Heacox



Erin Dorval

Regan Dorvall


Josh Dorval

Jacqui Kern




Leeanne Mc Kissick




Autumn McKissick




Dawn Cinelli


Tom Garvey

Stephanie Weiss


Peggy Alcock

Katie Ingram

Blue Runner

Jenny Kunz

Marie Graham


John Antweiler

Joyce Fitzgerald



Anita Garvey

Third Tri

Larry Geller



Naya Mondrosch